News Worth Celebrating

By DG Tina D. Fischlin on Saturday, March 6, 2021
Happy March, Rotary District 6910!

As we head into the 3rd month of 2021, we have a lot to be thankful for. Most importantly, many Rotary members in our District have received or are beginning to receive the COVID-19 vaccine. I love how almost every club I visit has a Happy Dollar announcement from a Rotarian who just received their first or second dose. This is news worth celebrating! We aren’t out of the woods yet though—mask wearing, handwashing and social distancing are still the keys to keeping ourselves and each other safe.

March is Water, Sanitation & Hygiene month. Did you know that 2,200 children are dying every day from a lack of access to clean water? Clean water, safe sanitation and healthy hygiene are basic human needs, but millions of people throughout the world – including in our own communities—do not have access to resources to meet these basic needs. Rotarian Suchet Loois has an update in this newsletter on HANWASH and how the District is supporting these efforts.

We continue to open the doors of opportunities with our Feed 10 Million Meal Challenge. At press time, we will have provided 1,477,501 meals this Rotary year!

From the Rotary Club of Athens, Rotarian Sarah McKinney shared the following story:


Pictured left to right: Richard Boone (Food Bank NEGA); Sarah McKinney, Rotary Club of Athens; President Carl Blount, Rotary Club of Athens; District Governor Nominee Gerry Taylor,
Classic City of Athens Rotary Club.
“At 8pm last night, I received a call from a local pastor that the food distribution they had planned for today fell through. They had planned for a USDA truckload of commodities, and due to logistics, the trucking company cancelled. She needed help to make good on her promise to feed neighbors near the Church. I sent Richard Boone and Sherry Anderson at the Food Bank an “urgent” email to help. At this VERY moment, they are loading a truckful of Farmers to Families (and more) from our Rotary Clubs and headed over to be the heroes (Food Bank) to the heroes (Church) to feed our neighbors."

Rotary Rocks. The Food Banks Rocks. Our neighbors Rock. A little Friday morning tear doesn’t feel too bad. Bless you all.

Sarah McKinney, President/CEO Athens Area Community Foundation

Keep up the good work Rotary District 6910 Rotarians!


I will echo Sarah's encouraging words: KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK, Rotary District 6910 Rotarians!
-DG Tina

HANWASH Update

By Suchet L. Loois on Saturday, March 6, 2021
The many operational and monetary challenges involved in the successful implementation of the Haiti National Clean Water Sanitation and Hygiene Strategy, more commonly known to Rotarians as HANWASH, continues to mount in the COVID environment. The Rotary focus in March is Water and Sanitation, so we asked our District 6910 HANWASH Chairperson, Dr. Suchet Loois, to provide our members a current update on the program. Read More

Great Service Project Ideas for Water and Sanitation

By Schelly Tennant Marlatt on Wednesday, February 24, 2021
March is Water and Sanitation Month in the Rotary World. We want to provide all of our clubs in District 6910 with ideas on how your group can get involved and help to protect our waterways and the environment (click below to read more). Read More

Make Plans Now to Attend Virtual District Conference

By Paige W Havens on Wednesday, February 24, 2021

Our District Conference Planning Committee is hard at work transitioning our programs to a digital format. We’re so excited to be able to bring you two days of great virtual programming that will offer fun, fellowship and celebration. We can’t wait to showcase the amazing accomplishments of our 2020-21 Rotary year!

The new registration portal is under development and should go live any day, so keep a close watch for all of the latest on registration and conference events at http://www.rotarydistrict6910.org/district-conference-2021-virtual.php

Be watching your inbox for a special eBlast unveiling all of the exciting conference activities. More news to come soon!

Rotary Has Heart: Feed10Million Update

By Randy Redner on Monday, March 1, 2021


DISTRICT 6910 ROTARIANS SHOWED A LOT OF HEART IN FEBRUARY…LET ME COUNT THE WAYS!

·Provided 462,004 meals in February – That’s an average of 115,000 meals a week
·Surpassed our 1 million meal challenge from DG Tina – Did it in just over 7 months
·As of February 28, we provided 1,320,226 meals provided
·Set a new goal of 2 million meals by June 30

For the latest update from D6910 Feed10Million Chair, Randy Redner, click the read more link.


Read More

Leadership Spotlight: Seth Robison

By Paige W Havens on Monday, March 1, 2021

As we continue our monthly leadership spotlight on Rotarians that volunteer to take on challenges and responsibilities at the district level, this month we'd like to introduce you to Seth Robison, from the Rotary Club of Athens. Pictured above: Seth and Haley with their son Dean celebrating his 3rd Birthday. Dean had so much fun, he now asks them weekly when he can have another birthday! Read More

C.A.R.T. Update

By Gene H. Windham on Friday, March 5, 2021

Click on the read more link below to see the most recent update from D6910 C.A.R.T. Chair, Gene Windham. Read More

21 Day Racial Equity Challenge

By Paige W Havens on Friday, February 19, 2021
As Rotarians, while becoming more and more aware of the disparities that many people in our communities face, we are committed to work as community leaders to help address those needs. Starting in March, Rotary Districts 6900, 6910, and 6920 will work in partnership with United Way of Greater Atlanta to promote a powerful 21-Day Racial Equity Challenge, giving all Georgia Rotarians the unique opportunity to take a deeper dive into the discussion of racial equity and healing. The challenge will be a free, self-guided learning experience where participants will receive three emails per week for seven weeks (hence 21 total days) with readings, videos, podcasts, and ways to take action. The learning will explore the history and impact of racism in our communities and how it’s shaped community development work across the Atlanta region and beyond. This is a great opportunity to learn more, grow as an ally, and advocate and reimagine a united path forward. Invite your Club members, friends, and family to join with us to take the 21-Day Challenge!


Register here: http://racialequity.unitedwayatlanta.org/?utm_source=LI

Photos From Around the District

Monday, March 1, 2021
ROTARY CLUB OF ATHENS DONATES 10,000 MASKS TO CLARKE COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT
“We are so appreciative of the collaboration with the Rotary Club of Athens. As a school district we know we cannot do this work alone - it will take community collaboration to move the needle. Our local Rotary club continuously exemplifies a laser focus in Improving our community through their consistent civic engagement, advocacy, and support of our efforts. The donation of masks means we will be able to keep our staff and students safe. We are so proud of our partnership with the Rotary Club of Athens and know we are better together. “
-Lawrence Harris, Chief of Community Engagement and Strategic Partnerships at Clarke County School District

(Pictured left to right: Rotary Member Alison McCullick, Students Adaline McCullick and Shelby Meeks, and Rotary President Carl Blount)
For more great District 6910 photos and memories made during the month of December, click the link below.
Read More

What's Your Club's PPP (Post-Pandemic Plan)?

Sunday, February 28, 2021
By Peter Gleichman
District Community Service Chair
­
As we approach the one-year anniversary of the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, with the distribution of three approved vaccines, we are beginning to see in the distance "the light at the end of the tunnel." Our Rotary clubs can begin to imagine meeting again in person. But will we resume meeting only in person and leave the virtual meetings behind? Or will we incorporate some of the lessons we learned and opportunities that arose during the pandemic?

Read More

The Rotary Club of Greene & Putnam Counties had a "Rotary Has Heart" Trifecta

By Donna H O'Neal on Thursday, March 4, 2021
The Rotary Club of Greene and Putnam Counties went all out in February to show the world that "Rotary Has Heart." Click below for more photos and to read about the details.
Read More

Early Act Letter Writing Campaign

By Jeremy Echuck on Thursday, March 4, 2021
District 6910 Early Act and Interact students got on board to support a letter writing campaign in February. The results were phenominal. Click read more to find out how many letters were sent!
Read More

Rotary Art

By Shane Persaud on Thursday, March 4, 2021

In conjunction with the Conyers Rockdale Council for the Arts, the Rotary Clubs of Conyers and Rockdale County pulled off a brilliant public image idea to promote Rotary in their community. Be sure to click read more to get the details and to see more amazing pieces of art! Read More

FEBRUARY 23 PROCLAIMED ROTARY DAY IN CHEROKEE CO.

By Francisco Javier Lozano on Tuesday, February 23, 2021
While we Rotarians know that every day of the year is "Rotary Day," the Rotary Club of Canton went to the extra effort of working with the Board of Commissioners in Cherokee County to have February 23 proclaimed as "Rotary Day" in Cherokee County! This is a great public relations / public image initiative.
Read More

Jason Browne: Energize Your Club

By Paige W Havens on Tuesday, March 2, 2021

Let's Talk Zones -- Part II

By David Roper on Thursday, March 4, 2021
This month we are continuing our overview of Rotary Zones with part two. Last month, former Rotary International Director (2018-20), David Stovall, provided an excellent overview of structure and how zones fit in the overall hierarchy. This month, another past R.I. Director (2002-04), J. David Roper, will delve in more with an explanation of the purpose and function of the zones. Click read more for the details. Read More

Pic of the Month

Friday, February 5, 2021
Click on this link for this month's Pic of the Month! Read More

March
2021

In This Issue

Club Anniversaries

Summerville-Trion
March 1st

White County
March 5th

Dahlonega
March 8th

Calhoun
March 11th

Greene and Putnam Counties
March 11th

Hartwell
March 19th

Winder
March 21st

Toccoa
March 23rd

Blue Ridge
March 26th

Etowah Cartersville
March 28th

Jefferson
March 31st

Important Dates & Deadlines

Click Here for PDF of Upcoming Key Dates

District Events

March 1st
RIZ 33/34 Monthly Zoomformation Call
March 2nd
DACdb University-Secrets of Chart of Accounts - Part 3
March 4th
RLI Online Session 1.4 - Rotary: The Bigger Picture
Speaker: Kim Waters
March 5th
RLI Online Session 2.6 - Service Projects
Speaker: Ed Davis
March 8th
Rotaract Week
March 8th
RLI Online Session 3.1 - Rotary History
Speaker: Bob Arnold
March 9th
RLI Online Session 2.4 - Communication Techniques
Speaker: Andre Marria
March 9th
DACdb University-m.DACdb-Add DACdb on your Phone!
March 9th
RLI Online Session 1.2 - Rotary Opportunities
Speaker: Stephanie Windham
March 9th
Zone 33 DMC Monthly Call
Speaker: RC Patrick Eakes & ARCs
Subject: RIZones 33, 34, & More weekly Friday call
March 10th
RLI Online Session 2.3 - Fundraising
Speaker: Carl Treleaven
March 10th
RLI Online Session 2.5 - Membership Attraction
Speaker: Drew Monaghan
March 10th
Rotary Works: Essential Tech Tools for Marketability
March 10th
RLI Online Session 2.1 - Analyze Your Club
Speaker: Gary Isreal
March 10th
RLI Online Session 1.3 - Ethics & Vocational Service
Speaker: Peter Gleichman
March 11th
RLI Online Session 3.3 - Public Image
Speaker: Betsy Owen
March 11th
RLI Online Session 1.4 - Rotary: The Bigger Picture
Speaker: Kim Waters
March 11th
RLI Online Session 3.2 - Leadership Strategies
Speaker: Ivan Johnson
March 12th
RLI Online Session 1.1 - I am a Rotarian!
Speaker: Bob Arnold
March 12th
RLI Online Session 3.4 - Rotary Foundation Grants
Speaker: Carl Treleaven
March 13th
RLI Online Session 2.2 - Strategic Planning
Speaker: Heather Kellen
March 17th
Lanier Area Rotary Means Business (RMB)
Speaker: Lanier Area Rotary Means Business (RMB)
March 17th
RLI Online Session 1.5 - The Rotary Foundation
Speaker: Lee Phares
March 18th
RLI Online Session 3.2 - Leadership Strategies
Speaker: Ivan Johnson
March 19th
RLI Online Session 2.6 - Service Projects
Speaker: Ed Davis
March 20th
RLI Online Session 1.2 - Rotary Opportunities
Speaker: Stephanie Windham
March 22nd
RLI Online Session 3.4 - Rotary Foundation Grants
Speaker: Carl Treleaven
March 22nd
RLI Online Session 1.3 - Ethics & Vocational Service
Speaker: Peter Gleichman
March 23rd
RLI Online Session 2.4 - Communication Techniques
Speaker: Andre Marria
March 23rd
RLI Online Session 1.1 - I am a Rotarian!
Speaker: Bob Arnold
March 23rd
Jason Browne - Energize Your Club's Membership!
Speaker: Jason Browne
Subject: Energize Your Club's Membership!
March 24th
RLI Online Session 2.5 - Membership Attraction
Speaker: Drew Monaghan
March 24th
RLI Online Session 3.5 - International Service
Speaker: Ted Kirchharr
March 24th
RLI Online Session 3.1 - Rotary History
Speaker: Bob Arnold
March 25th
RLI Online Session 2.1 - Analyze Your Club
Speaker: Gary Isreal
March 25th
RLI Online Session 3.3 - Public Image
Speaker: Betsy Owen
March 26th
RLI Online Session 2.3 - Fundraising
Speaker: Carl Treleaven
March 26th
Infinite Possibilities - Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
Speaker: Host - Stephanie Urchick, RI Director, Zones 33-34
March 29th
RLI Online Session 1.5 - The Rotary Foundation
Speaker: Lee Phares
March 30th
RLI Online Session 2.2 - Strategic Planning
Speaker: Heather Kellen
April 2nd
RLI Online Session 2.6 - Service Projects
Speaker: Ed Davis
April 6th
RLI Online Session 2.4 - Communication Techniques
Speaker: Andre Marria
April 6th
RLI Online Session 1.2 - Rotary Opportunities
Speaker: Stephanie Windham
April 7th
RLI Online Session 3.4 - Rotary Foundation Grants
Speaker: Carl Treleaven
April 8th
RLI Online Session 1.3 - Ethics & Vocational Service
Speaker: Peter Gleichman
April 9th
RLI Online Session 2.5 - Membership Attraction
Speaker: Drew Monaghan
April 9th
RLI Online Session 3.5 - International Service
Speaker: Ted Kirchharr
April 10th
RLI Online Session 1.2 - Rotary Opportunities
Speaker: Stephanie Windham
April 12th
RLI Online Session 2.2 - Strategic Planning
Speaker: Heather Kellen
April 13th
Zone 33 DMC Monthly Call
Speaker: RC Patrick Eakes & ARCs
Subject: RIZones 33, 34, & More weekly Friday call
April 14th
RLI Online Session 2.4 - Communication Techniques
Speaker: Andre Marria
April 14th
Rotary Works: So You Want to be Your Own Boss?
April 14th
RLI Online Session 3.3 - Public Image
Speaker: Betsy Owen





RI Monthly Themes

Click here

District Team

DG Tina D. Fischlin
District Governor
Michael L. Berg
District Governor-Elect
Gerry Taylor
District Governor-Nominee
David Thomas Upchurch
District Communications Officer
Chad Bingham
District Membership Chair
Brandy Lynn Swanson
District Public Image/PR Chair
District Governor-Nominee Designate
Bruce Allen Azevedo
District Rotary Foundation Chair

Committee List 2021-22