Club of
Smoketown Brunswick

Club Meeting

Smoketown Brunswick
Meets at 1st Friday of each month at Noon (various locations)
Time: Friday at 12:00 PM

Happy Hour meeting 3rd Wednesday monthly from 5:30-6:30pm at Smoketown Brewing Station Brunswick, MD 21716


Abbie Lynn Ricketts
January 8th
Christopher George Mourlas
January 12th
Judith Ann Couillard
January 25th

Club Leaders

Jennifer Lolli-Hall
iPast President
Cherie Wigfield
Club Membership Chair
Lois A. Jarman
Sue Kelley
District Foundation Advocate
Jennifer Diaz
Christopher George Mourlas
Abbie Lynn Ricketts
Community Service Chair
Judith Ann Couillard
Rotary Foundation Chair
William(Will) Byrd
Area Governor

Paul Harris Fellow Honorees

Three members of the Rotary Club of Smoketown, Brunswick, Maryland will be honored as Paul Harris Fellows in ceremonies at the club’s monthly meeting on Friday, January 6, 2023 at Noon in the Community Room of the Brunswick Branch of the Frederick County Public Library (915 North Maple Avenue, Brunswick, MD).
Jennifer Lolli-Hall, current Smoketown Rotary Club President, and Club Past Presidents Ernie Stepoulos and Judy Couillard will each receive a Paul Harris Fellow Award, named for the founder of Rotary International. A Paul Harris Fellow Award is presented to an individual who - to quote the purpose of The Rotary Foundation - is "doing good in the world".
Jennifer, Ernie and Judy have each served for multiple one-year terms as President of the nascent Rotary Club in Brunswick in the club’s formative years. Chartered in April of 2018, the Smoketown Rotary Club is indebted to these three charter members for leading the service club over the past five years.
A Paul Harris Fellow Award is presented to an individual in whose name has been contributed $1,000 to The Rotary Foundation. Each honoree will receive a certificate, medallion and lapel pin in recognition of the honor accorded him/her.
Community Paul Harris Fellows Named by The Smoketown Rotary Club
Carlo Alfano (2020)
Jim Cox (2018)
Leslie Gum (2022)
Shirley Shores (2019)
Brunswick Area Paul Harris Fellows Honored By Others
Sandy Cox - honored by Rotary Club of Carroll Creek (2013)
Richard Foot - a member of the Rotary Club of Carroll Creek; honored by the
Cambridge, Massachusetts Rotary Club (1994)
Charlie Harris - a charter member of the Smoketown Rotary Club honored by
Richard Foot (2016)
Karin Tome - a charter member of the Smoketown Rotary Club at the time of her
award; honored by Richard Foot (2021)
Shawn Wolf - a member of the Rotary Club of Carroll Creek (unknown date)
Information provided by Richard Foot
Please know that the following individuals will be guests at the January 6th Smoketown Rotary Club Luncheon meeting at the Brunswick Branch of the Frederick County Public Library. Each has confirmed his attendance.
+ Brunswick Mayor Nathan Brown
+ Rotary International Area Governor Will Byrd
+ Carroll Creek Rotary Club member Richard Foot

Thank you to all who came to support our Interact Clubs and brought their fur babies to see Santa at the Pet Photos with Santa held at H.C. Summers! Santa was great with all the visitors! A huge thanks to Abbie Ricketts brother-in-law Kevin McCarthy who served as Santa and to Jennifer Lolli-Hall for organizing the event.

District Conference April 20-23, 2023, at Hyatt Regency in Bethesda

By Bob Nelson on Wednesday, December 28, 2022

The Rotary Foundation motto is front and center on
Rotary International FLOAT IN THE ROSE PARADE
2023 WINNER!!
Most outstanding floral presentation among entries 35 feet and under

January is Vocational Service Month

By Bob Nelson on Wednesday, December 28, 2022

INVITATION TO 10th, 11th and 12th GRADERS
Rotary Youth Leadership Academy
February 18-20, 2023
Camp Letts, Edgewater, Maryland
RYLA District 7620 program, an intense 3-day, 2-night leadership training program that is designed to recognize, encourage and further develop the leadership skills of 10th, 11th and 12th-grade high school students who have shown a potential for rendering important service to their schools and communities.
The program was first developed in New Zealand and Australia in 1959 to fulfill a need to recognize and develop outstanding young people. RYLA was later adopted by Rotary International and is now held throughout the world.
For more information and application -

Rotarians' Trip to New York City February 24-26, 2023

By Naumaan Hamid on Wednesday, December 28, 2022

A Better Understanding of the Four Way Test