## Past President History of Susitna Rotary Club



Scott Norman agrees to charter new Rotary Club and is congratulated by Larry Tallman of the Wasilla Noon Rotary Club, who agrees to sponsor the new club. Scott enlists the aide of Jack Timm to recruit members and to start the paperwork required. Shortly after the new club is chartered in January 2007, the Norman

family moves

and Jack Timm finishes Scott's term and serves the presidential term of 2007-2008.

Mitch Hull is our president in 2008-09 and is shown here with Jack and Kathy Timm at the Rotary District Conference in Juneau.



Ralph Buzard is president in 2009-2010 and is shown here inducting new member Desiree Compton. Ralph's wife Claudia remains a member of our club long after Ralph's death. Ralph and Claudia were big advocates of Big Lake Recycling.

Kathy Timm is president in 2010-2011 and accepts our first exchange student Zarina Massanova from Kyrgyzstan. Kathy also is responsible for starting our largest service project, the pavilion at Reflection Lake at Palmer Hay Flats.



Marty Metiva is president 2011-2012 and is



responsible for Susitna Rotary's attendance at Rotary International Conference in New Orleans. It is at this convention that we first learn about Josh the Baby Otter, a child literacy / water safety program. Marty and Cheryl Metiva both end up Rotary District Governors.

Stan Mitchell is president 2012-2013 and continues our water safety programs, Houston Founder's Day, and special projects at the Wasilla Food Pantry.



Eric Morey is president 2014-2015 and supports our introduction of Josh the Baby Otter as we roll the program out to all of the elementary schools in the MatSu Borough.





Cheri LeBlanc-Shue (holding Rotary wheel) is president 2013-2014 and is responsible for our observance of United Way's Day of Caring and our work at the Big Lake Library.



Phil Horton is president 2015-2016 and is responsible (with wife Claire) for blowing Josh the Baby Otter program into the huge project it is now, including Float 4 Life. Phil went the extra mile to remember the name of every guest and presenter.

Chuck Foster is president 2016-2017 and is responsible for adding video presentations to each and every meeting. Chuck also brought and increased level of professionalism to meetings that have persevered. Chuck's ties to WASI led to additional service projects at the senior center, too.

Cheryl Metiva is president 2017-2018 and is a past president of the Wasilla Noon Rotary Club. She continues to leverage her community connections to champion Rotary and provide our club with projects and opportunity. She goes on to be District 5010 Governor.

Jack Timm is president again 2018-2019 and takes his direction from a Visioning project at the end of Cheryl's year. This ushers the return of Rotary Youth Exchange for the club.





Lanissa Grogan is president 2019-2020 and hosts our exchange student Sally from South Korea. Lanissa begins construction on the Little Susitna Rotary Park with lagoon, pavilion, and rock grotto. Rob and Lanissa also host Ivan Nivia, our next exchange student from Bolivia.

Dan Phillips is president 2020-2021 when COVID strikes. In-person attendance crashes and video meetings are started. Dan navigates the new technology, identifies and purchases required equipment and starts the club as a hybrid IRL / e-club.

Marty Metiva is president 2021-2022 and continues to build membership after IRL meetings are restored. He is also president 2022-2023 when our president-elect is unable to fill their duties. The club realizes a 25% membership increase during Marty's presidency.

