## **Our Club History**

Compiled by John Forbes, PDG, Charter member, Club Historian updated in 2007 and 2013 by Brian Barstead

The first Rotary club in Springfield was the Rotary Club of Springfield, chartered in 1913.

Rotary Club of Springfield-Sunrise met for the first time on February 4, 1987 at the Capitol Plaza Hotel at First and Adams. Thirty Two Charter Members formed the club. Currently there is one remaining charter member -- Mario Perrino. Bob Stuart, PDG and later an RI Director, and the late John Giavaras, who later became a district governor of D6460, both from the Rotary Club of Springfield, were instrumental in helping form the Sunrise club. On February 25, 1987 the Club adopted its Charter and By-Laws.

Our club received its charter on April 7, 1987, becoming the third chartered club in the history of Rotary in Springfield.

In June of 1987, Rotary Sunrise became the first club in Central Illinois to admit women to its membership. Patti Donsbach was the first female Rotarian in Springfield history becoming a member in July of 1987.

Rotary Sunrise was also the second Rotary Club in Springfield to elect a female club president. Eileen Montgomery served as our president for 18 months from January of 1997 through June of 1999.

Year	Club President	Occupation
1987- 88	Mario Perrino	Accountant
1988- 89	Kent Jones served 3 months John Forbes (D ) served 9 months	Insurance Underwriter Property Mgr
1989- 90	Charlie Hammond	Bank Trust Officer
1990- 91	Roy Nash	Hospital Chaplain
1991- 92	Drew Davis	Financial Adviser
1992- 93	Mike Logan	Accident Recovery Attorney
1993- 94	AI Laabs	Hospital Administrator

1994- 95	Dick McDaniel	Orthodontist
1995- 96	Brian Barstead	Financial Advisor
1996- 99	Tom Wakefield (moved away before serving) Eileen Montgomery (served 18 months) Doug Nelson (served 18 months)	Furniture Store Mgr Golf Course Mgr Business systems company owner
1999- 00	Dick Robinson (D)	State Agency Grants Mgr
2000- 01	Dick Morse	Architect
2001- 02	Dick Livingston	Pharmacist
2002- 03	John Harris	Police Chief
2003- 04	Don Sharp	Radio Advertising Manager
2004- 05	Brian Dickerson	Computer recycling repair owner
2005- 06	Paul Sims	Minister
2006- 07	Cindy Davis	Business Furniture Store Owner
2007- 08	Becky Miller	Financial Advisor
2008- 09	Jim Norris	Business Consultant
2009- 10	Brian Dickerson	Computer recycling repair owner
2010- 11	Don Sharp	
2011- 12	Beca Nix	Insurance
2013- 14	Bill Wheelhouse/ Dick Robinson (11/13)/Eli Goodman	Radio/PDG/ Physician
2014- 15	Eli Goodman	Physician/Author

'15-'16	Chris Berger	Insurance Agent
'16-'17	Matthew Read	Attorney
'17-'18	Karen Witter * Karen started in March of 2017	Museum professional /Ambassadorial Scholar Alumna
'18-'19	Bill Wheelhouse	Public Radio personality/teacher
'19-'20	Mike Zimmers	School administrator